Smirking From Home

Turning ideas into words.

Respect for the Ladies.

One month has passed and I’m utterly banjaxed. This looking after a baby malarkey whilst trying to keep some normal sense of tidiness about the house is the greatest test known to man. Which explains the title of this post as I cannot fathom how our mothers, grandmothers and their fore-mothers managed it without ending up in various lunatic asylums. It might explain why a lot of them are still rather religious and why they sought solace in the church. It was the only hours’ peace they had all week.

IF you’ll permit me, I’ll indulge myself in a spot of “woe is me”. Now those of you who know my situation will say, “but you only have one child to look after during the day!”, the other being at school, at least for the next 3 weeks. I’ll accept that as a valid reason for me not to have a gripe or three, especially since most if the afore-mentioned ladies raised screaming gaggles of greater numbers, but sod it. I’m a bloke, I get man flu and I’m allowed to waffle on the strain of raising one bairn, whilst my follicles rapidly resemble a badger’s arse and my ability to think coherently disappears off into the wild beyond. (I’m only going to partially blame this for my lack of scribbling in recent weeks)

Up front, I have to stress, that the wee fella is totally adorable and has a belly laugh on him that would make a sailor blush. If he could talk, with a laugh like that, I’m positive the air would be blue and the jokes would be filthy. Not for me a demure wee darling. Rambunctious all the way I say. He possesses all the standard wily ways of the wain, luring you in with sweet smiles and giggles before throwing a feckin’ great box of howling spanners into the false calm which was your life for those few minutes.

“Feed me ye big bollix!” “Remove this shite off me arse and use an unfragranced wipe this time, you insensitive tool.  Me hole stung like field of nettles after you used them cheap ones that smelt like a hoor’s handbag”. “What do you call this crap then? Apple and Blueberry Puree? Puree d’Turd more like”.

“Actually I don’t mind that one. What was that foul-tasting spew you gave me for breakfast? Oats? OATS!!? I’m a flippin’ baby ye gobshite, not a donkey”.

How he manages to fit this invective in amongst the howling yaps and crocodile tears I’ll never know. One minute it’s like he’s receiving electro-shock treatment, the next, full of joys of spring. They learn the methods of emotional blackmail early these days. “You’re not looking at me. Waaaaah!” “Not BBC News 24 again? Waaaah! Put on the Teletubbies and move yer fat arse out of the road so I can see what Po’s wearing today.” Where’s my bottle? Waaaaah!”

Christ on a bike. Imagine doing this with 4 of the wee feckers.”More Weight in the nappy, fat boy! Uuuhhhhhhh, Waaaah, gruuuunt! Waaaah.” Followed naturally with a huge smile and all the pleasantries of the day.

This is my day before lunchtime. In the interim I’ve taken the wee lass to school, tried to eat a slice of toast, maybe washed a dish or two and if I’m truly lucky, sterilised the bottles. Needless to say he charms the knickers off the mothers at the primary school before resorting to type and yammering for most of the remaining morning. Maybe he was expecting more at the primary school? They do grow up quickly these days after all.  I comfort myself in the knowledge that he’ll get a rude awakening when he’s 21 and it takes more than a wink and a smile to seduce the ladies. Mind you I’m no expert in that field so he’ll probably gravitate to his uncle for advice on such matters.

By the time Stella arrives him from work after 5pm I’m ready for joining the Foreign Legion. The dinner’s a half-baked concoction of something vaguely edible and himself is usually serenading me with Rage Against The Machine in the unholy key of Waaaaaaaah once more. The house could be tidier but it’s not as bad as it could have been. I like to think I’m slowly but surely discovering a method of persevering through the mayhem and madness and finding brief snippets of time achieve something worthwhile from my list of chores.

Respect to the ladies. It’s no wonder ye live longer than us. It’s your thoroughly deserved reward for keeping us all on the straight and narrow, right from the word go.


June 7, 2010 - Posted by | Bringing Up Baby | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. “Fuck you I won’t do what ya told me! BWAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!”

    Quality mate, quality. And again, I feels yer pain.
    My missus has had a spate of late shifts and nights, and I’ve been left to get both kids up in the am, feed them, clothe them, get them to school, go earn some pennies all day long, then return in the afternoon to fetch them, feed them, bath them, dress them, and put them to bed.

    Any men who have the audacity and unbridled arrogance to assume their women are ok handling the kids by themselves while they go to the pub with their mates, need to spend a few minutes alone in a room with me. It won’t be pretty.
    Sadly though, men like this tend to think the ‘quality time’ they spend with the cleaned, fed, rested children is what defines their relationship with their kids.
    I tend to think that guys like us who get our hands dirty (literally) will have a far stronger bond someday…

    Hang in there mucker. 😉

    Comment by Bonzo | June 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. Always wanted to live long enough to see my grandchildren do to their parents what they did to me..drive me round the bend, force me to dye my hair to hide the grey(not for me the luxury of getting it coloured to look fashionable) to mention just 2 gripes. Did I never tell you that your Dad threatened to throw you out the bedroom window one night! As you are still here you know I rescued you!!! You were an absolute darling during the day but at night….Dr. Jeykell and Mr. Hyde comes to mind!!!! But all these years later you will be pleased to know that I have forgiven you. However give Robert a great big kiss from me and tell him to keep up the good work…..He’ll be fine and easy to manage when…….he finds a good woman like Stella. Love you.

    Comment by Mother | June 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment